Skip to content

One Sensational Sunday

July 26, 2010

Yesterday was magical. 

As Mary P. would say, “It was practically perfect in every way.”

I woke early, read Eat, Pray, Love out on the deck and munched on some frozen blueberries.  The sky was the bluest of blues and the sun felt delicious on my skin.  I listened to the birds sing and then to the sounds of the neighborhood waking up.  Once my kiddos were up, I made a big breakfast for them and we ate together out on the deck. 

Maddie made up a batch of the most delicious Cucumber Lemonade.  I think it’s my new favorite refreshing summer drink.

After breakfast, Jack challenged us to a target-shooting match.  We all had fun trying our luck with his new bow and arrows. 

Then we all did a little crafting in the new office and I made some good progress on my little love gift.

After lunch, we headed to Appleton’s Art in the Park.

Oh, my! I loved walking around and looking at all the handmade arts and crafts.  There were so many fabulous things to look at and lovely live music to listen to.

These little sculptures made out of recycled bits and pieces were the coolest things, ever.  What that artist could do with bolts and old toasters and spark plugs–magic! (You’re looking at a family eating at a picnic table, a man grilling, and a toaster made into a airstream camper–so darn cute!)

I loved this piece.  It would have been adorable in the new office.

I also loved these colorful, simple designs made out of glass.  Oh! And these fun flowers were so cute:

I did find a spectacular treasure, something I love, love, love:

Isn’t it fantastic?  It’s actually called a “Treasure Necklace.”  The artist said she was inspired by the Treasure Necklaces she spied in Mexico, necklaces that are made from bits and pieces of saved beads, etc.  She said she collects big beads and other treasures from all over and pieces them together to make one-of-a-kind art you can wear.  There’s even a small child’s ring in there.  Can you find it?  The ring has an engraved “H” on it, which just happens to be the first letter of my maiden name.  It was meant to be, right?!?  I loved just about everything this artist had on her table;  there were so many beautiful pieces:

The best part of my sensational Sunday?  Spending every minute of it with these three:

 Best. Day. Ever!

Hope your Sunday was sensational, too!

XO,

Vicki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    July 26, 2010 8:07 pm

    Look at Miss Emily’s fantastic wrap skirt! What a fun day for you and the kiddos!

Leave a Reply

