Skip to content

Mike and Mike’s Rules for Sports and Life

August 10, 2010

Oh, Boy.

I think this is the blog where I might lose some of you.

But I hope not.

Really.

Hang in there with me on this one.

It’s confession time again:  I’m more than a wee bit obsessed with ESPN. 

It’s not normal and I can’t really understand it, myself. 

But the truth is, I listen to ESPN radio in the car all day, all day:  Mike and Mike (adore!), Colin (gets on my nerves), Scott and Ryen (love, love, love) and Doug (fabulous!).

I fought the ESPN thing for the first ten years of my marriage. 

Hard.

John would turn it on, I would leave the room (or tune it out if we were in the car).  And then something completely odd and magical happened:  I became a crazy-obsessed ESPN fan.   After years of fighting it, I think I just got to the point where I needed let go and let it overtake me.  Needless-to-say, John was/is thrilled.  I can now hold my own in all sports-related conversations.  He often trots me out at parties to wow and impress his friends.  And you should see my NCAA brackets–they are a thing of beauty (okay, maybe not this year…but whose was?). 

So.  Mike and Mike.  Greenie and Golic.  True fact:  over the years I’ve developed a little crush on Greenie.  I know.  It makes John scrunch up his face, too.  I can’t help it.  All his little odd mannerisms and quirks just endear him to me.  That probably wouldn’t be the case if he wasn’t broadcasting with Golic, though.  Golic brings out the best and worst in Greenie.  I love how they play off each other–the former NFL football player and the geeky (yet adorable) Northwestern alum–their chemistry just works for me. 

I knew their book would be funny.  And it is.  Especially if you’re a Mike and Mike fan.  The book captures their personalities spot-on.  I can “hear” them speaking throughout the book.  Some of the stories I’ve heard before, but a lot of them were new to me.  I especially liked the interview with their wives (priceless!).  I like that they brought in a bunch of the show “regulars” (Buster, Stink, Dickie V., etc.)  to add comments and insights.  The little pictures add a nice touch, too (love the garden gnome!).

But can we talk about format for a minute?  Because I’ve got to tell you…it is a bit odd.  I guess I was expecting something more like Greenie’s Why My Wife Thinks I’m An Idiot (loved it!), but Rules is actually written in more of a magazine format (think stories interrupted by little asides, etc) similar to Stephen Colbert’s book, I Am America (and So Can You!).  I’m thinking that they weren’t really targeting the stay-at-home-mom-who-drives-a-minivan when they wrote this book.  The format is probably perfect for 20-something guys looking for a little light bathroom reading. 

Weird format, aside, I very much enjoyed Mike and Mike’s Rules for Sports and Life

It’s a cute read.

Even if you don’t have a crush on Greenie.

Happy Reading!

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn Brown permalink
    August 13, 2010 1:55 pm

    You so crack me up! Love it! Thanks for being you and sharing joy! BTW, we sports-loving gals gotta stick together!

  2. denise permalink
    August 16, 2010 8:04 pm

    Yeah for Mike and Mike! I loved this post (and I’m so glad you liked the book). It just makes you love Greenie a little bit more after reading it (and I would so love to meet his wife!). But Greenie did pick the Packers to go 12-4 which means they are now doomed. Luckily for you, he picked the Bears to be 6-10 so they’ll probably do better than that.

Leave a Reply

