Skip to content

I’ll Miss You, Rockstar!

August 13, 2010

  I am not a big fan of goodbyes.  Especially when I have to say goodbye to someone who holds a special place in my heart.  Especially when that person has been a big part of my life the last three years.  Big as in:  2-3 hours/day,  4-5 days/week, and 6-hours on the weekend.  Big as in:  sharing a hotel room, travelling and socializing together, and sharing many a meal together.  This beautiful lady and I have logged some major hours together:

I’ve watched her go from quiet to outgoing.  From slow to fast.  And then faster.  And then REALLY fast.  I was there when she missed the podium by .01 and there when she stood atop the podium.  We’ve shared tears and laughter and joy and sadness.  And teasing.  There’s been a whole lot of teasing.

I’ve watched her blossom both in and out of the pool.  I’ve watched her on stage and behind the curtain and I’ve seen her grow into one heck of a photographer.

Amy is definitely the complete package.  The real deal.  A genuine joy. 

This weekend, Amy will head down to the University of Arizona to start her collegiate career.     In a few short weeks, Amy will officially be a Division I NCAA student/athlete.  The path she has chosen will not be easy.  She will be pushed harder than she’s ever been pushed.  But you know what?  She’s ready.  She’s ready to start this new chapter of her life. 

And while lots of thing are going to change for Amy, I hope she knows one thing will always be the same:  she will always be my favorite rockstar.

I know I am a better coach because I got to coach Ms. Amy Spaay. 

Thanks for the memories.

Best of luck at Arizona, Amy! 

I will always be rooting for you!

XO,

Vicki

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dee Wais permalink
    August 13, 2010 3:38 pm

    I haven’t cried yet Vicki, but this had me very close!! I, too will miss my girl-maybe a road trip is in the future for you and I? Austin in Dec?

    • August 13, 2010 4:16 pm

      Austin in December?!? I’m so in!! I love, love, love AUSTIN!!!

  2. Amy Spaay permalink
    August 13, 2010 4:30 pm

    It made me cry! Thank you so much Vicki, I expected you to talk about making that wonderful collage, not this! But I will always cherish the memories we’ve had and you have, without a doubt, made me a better swimmer and a better person. Last one, BEST ONE!

    • Amy Spaay permalink
      August 13, 2010 4:33 pm

      Oh, and remember that one practice you had me do at least 20 starts until I got so angry and actually used my legs? Yeah, that was awesome 🙂

      • August 14, 2010 9:54 am

        Oh, yeah. I remember! : ) You did a better job at hiding the anger back then–unlike this summer– “I don’t care if it costs me a quarter!!!!” Haha!

Trackbacks

  1. When In Doubt, Just Make Your Own « So Very Vicki
  2. I’m Off to See the Rock Star! « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

