Skip to content

Reason #852 Why I Love John

August 24, 2010
tags: ,

Yesterday while John was doing the grocery shopping, Buster decided to roll in some random animal’s poop.  He’s done this before (unfortunately) so I know just exactly how gross it smells.  I also know the only thing you can do to get rid of it involves a hose, an over-excited dog and lots of shampoo.

When John came in with the grocery bags, I told him about Buster (who was leashed to the deck after being banned from the house).  True to form, John volunteered to give the dog a bath (he’s so awesome!).

A couple of hours later, I was putting a lid on a container of some homemade spaghetti sauce.  Like always, Buster was right under my feet.  He smelled SO good.  I said to John, “Thank you so much for giving Buster a bath.  He’s smells great.”

No sooner had the words come out of my mouth than the container of sauce went flying out of my hands, slid off the counter, did a 360-degree turn across the hardwood floors and splattered all over Buster and the entire kitchen (it looked like a crime scene–walls, ceiling, cabinet doors).

John looked up from whatever he was doing.

And then he stood up, grabbed the shampoo bottle and called Buster outside for another bath.

He loves me.

A lot.

XO,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    August 24, 2010 3:34 pm

    What a guy! Actions speak louder than words.

  2. claudia b permalink
    August 25, 2010 8:39 am

    Oh this just makes me smile. That sweet ol’ John.

    And then I thought about what Buster has been saying to his pals on the dog-walking sidewalks: “Hey you guys, watch out. When you roll in stuff that you thought smelled *mighty fine* Your Humans are not only gonna pour suds all over you…..then they’ll take a bowl of big red chunky tomato stuff and toss it in the air till it coats you from nose to tail. And THEN they’ll do a SECOND batch of suds all over you. I’m tellin ya: It’s making me think twice about how fun that Rolling was in the first place”

    :o) anyway, blessings and good thoughts to you and each precious one in your household (the four-legged kind too!)

    • August 25, 2010 8:43 am

      Claudia–I loved your comment! I’m sure Buster was indeed mighty confused about having to go through 2 baths in one day! I bet he was also very bummed that the second bath came so quickly–he probably would have enjoyed cleaning up himself had he been given the chance! : )

  3. sister friend permalink
    September 11, 2010 12:09 am

    that’s why i have cats. they are named after gay designers. oh dolcé and gabbana how i do love you. and they do so love my shoes. little do they know they are designed by their rival and that would be christian loubiton!

Leave a Reply

