Skip to content

T-Shirt Vertigo

August 28, 2010

I got a little woozy in WalMart yesterday, right there in the dairy section.

One minute I was fine.  The next minute it hit me:  Gosh, I am getting darn-right old.

I guess in the back of my mind I already had an inkling that the 18-year-old checker was just appeasing me when she carded me the other day (complete with major eye-rolling).  But I’m not going to lie, a tiny part of me likes to pretend I could still be confused with a 21-year-old, even while my rational mind knows that I could absolutely be the mother of a 21-year-old. 

And then I wore my new “Neenah Swim and Dive Parent” t-shirt out in public.  To WalMart.

Now, don’t get me wrong:  I was beyond excited to own my very own parent t-shirt. Why, I put that t-shirt on hours before I had to leave for Emily’s meet, I was so excited! 

And then I wore it out in public.  To WalMart.

And then by the dairy section I realized that I was now wearing a fire-engine red shirt that announced to the world, “I AM OLD!  I AM THE PARENT OF A HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT!”

It hit me like a ton of bricks.

I took a few deep cleansing breaths to regroup. 

And I then convinced myself  that each and every person who smiled at me was secretly thinking, “Neenah Swim and Dive Parent?  No way!  Unbelievable! Why, she looks barely out of high school herself.”

Whatever works, right?  : )

XO,

Vicki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. stephanie battaglia permalink
    August 28, 2010 9:15 am

    I too was carded the other day and I pretended he thought I was young as well. I think it was because my girlfirend who is 35 still looks like she is 18. But I will take whatever I can. Hahahahahaha

  2. Terry permalink
    August 28, 2010 11:18 am

    Vicki:

    So glad you wore the red shirt yesterday. If you support our troops, especially the Marines, you are suppose to wear red on Friday. Please keep it up and wear it every Friday.

  3. sister friend permalink
    September 10, 2010 11:56 pm

    ok seriously? you are only a little over a year older than me and i am so not old and either are you. and quite frankly we look good so i am 40 and proud and so should you! you are fabulous!

Leave a Reply

