Skip to content

Good Books, Anyone?

September 25, 2010

T minus 7 days until John and I set off into the sunset together.  This will be our first vacation together without the kids in forever.  Of course, the kiddos are quick to remind us that we “just” did a house hunting trip together (almost 5 years ago!).  I completely do not count a house hunting trip as a vacation.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I would place “House Hunting Trip” on the opposite of end of the spectrum from “Vacation.”  

Then they remind us that John and I went to California by ourselves 5 years ago.  Uh-huh.  That was the trip we took so I could compete in a Half-Ironman.  Yes, it was in Santa Cruz.  Yes, we did go there without them.  But I had to do a Half-Ironman while we were there.  It didn’t exactly feel like a vacation.  : )

Anyway.  This time we’re packing our bags and heading down to South Carolina so that John can compete in the United States Disc Golf Championships.  Yay!  John will play a couple of rounds each day and then we can play together.  For a whole week!  My job is to have fun with John after/between rounds.  I think I can handle that!

We will be staying at The Book and The Spindle, a Bed & Breakfast located right across the street from Winthrop University (a very pretty little campus).  I’ve got to tell you, just the name alone gets me excited!  We’re planning a trip into Charlotte, NC and I’m hoping we’ll be able to sneak down to Charleston, too.  John and I lived in Augusta, GA right after we got married and I actually worked in Columbia SC, so I’m very familiar with South Carolina.  We had lots of visitors while we lived down there.  I loved taking them to Charleston, Myrtle Beach and Hilton Head Island (it was a hard life…).  I fell in love with Charleston and I’d love to head back down there during our trip.

While John is practicing and playing, I plan on reading and exploring and working on my trip journal which is 100% inspired by Monika’s fabulous journal of her trip to…wait for it…Charleston!  If you have a chance, hop on over to her site and check out her book.  I think it’s perfection!

Whew!  I got so carried away with this post, I almost forgot what it was supposed to be about!  What I meant to do was ask if anyone has any good book recommendations for my trip.  I want to load up my Nook with all kinds of good reads to savor during my down time.  Care to share some recommendations? Please let me know in the comments!

Happy Saturday!

XO,

Vicki

PS  I can’t remember where I found that adorable picture–if you know, please let me know so I can give credit where credit is due.  Thanks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 8:44 am

    Thanks for finding inspiration in my Charleston journal! I still enjoy looking at it and wish we were back there right now. Ah, 4 days alone together.

    Enjoy your trip and be sure to share your journal on your blog so that we can all ooh and aaah!

Leave a Reply

