Skip to content

When In Doubt, Just Make Your Own

September 29, 2010

My friend, Dee, mom to super-swimmer, Amy, and all-around-fabulous-mentor-of-all-things-swim-mom-related, used to carry a tiny book in her purse in which she recorded Amy’s swim times.  Each and every swim was recorded for future referencing.  It was pretty amazing.  To be completely honest, I don’t remember what Dee’s little book looked like, but I knew I’d want to be the kind of swim mom who could come up with those important times at any given moment.  I have been dutifully writing down Emily’s times on the heat sheets for every meet this season.  The problem with heat sheets, though, is they tend to get wet and/or wrinkled throughout the course of a meet.  And my stack of wrinkled heat sheets was getting pretty tall.  I just couldn’t seem to come up with the perfect little “Dee” book to record Emily’s times in.  And then it hit me:  I could just make my own.

It’s not fancy, but it’s cute.  : )  I used a pre-printed transparency sheet for the front and back, covered some chip board to give the book some strength, and then labeled and divided out the various events. 

The actual recording sheets are behind the divider pages.  Here’s Emily’s 100 Breast times sheet:

Ta-Daa!  Throughout the season I will probably add a couple of pictures and other things I pick up along the way.  That way she’ll have a little mini album of the season before she’s even done competing!

Speaking of competing–I’d like to give a HUGE shout out to Maddie who is trying out for the basketball team tonight–Good Luck, Boo!

XO,

Vicki

PS  This little album is part of my Four Simple Goals challenge!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 12:44 pm

    Just think of all the fun she will have looking through this in 10 years. Love it!

  2. September 29, 2010 1:38 pm

    Does this mean you will have to carry a larger purse?

    Go Maddie — call or email me with the results.

  3. September 30, 2010 8:52 am

    The cover is so cool and fun! I really love the idea of recording her times. She will love it too. Awesome job!!

Trackbacks

  1. Farewell, 2010. « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

