Skip to content

Happy Trails, Bessie, Happy Trails…

September 30, 2010

Well, today’s the day. 

The end of an era, if you will. 

I’m not going to lie;  there were times in the last ten years when I thought this day would never arrive, days when I wanted nothing more than to replace Bessie.

But you know what?  Now that today has arrived, I’m feeling a little bit nostalgic about parting with Bessie, my trusty red minivan (stop rolling your eyes, Denise!).

There was a time when I thought I was just a wee bit too cool to drive a minivan.  But ten years and 240,000 miles later, I’ll be the first to admit that I might not have made it without her.  She’s been there with me through thick and thin–through the early days when all three kiddos rode in carseats, all the way to the beginning of Emily’s freshman year of high school.  She’s hauled swimmers and bikes and camping gear.  She’s been to Disney World and the Grand Canyon and back and forth from Texas to Chicago numerous times.    She’s taken me to Champaign to do a tri with Denise, to the Olympic Trials in Omaha and to Kansas to meet my Godchild.  She’s been to dance lessons, soccer games and swim meets.  She’s been my trusty pal through hours and hours and hours of school carpools.  She’s been spilled on, scratched, thrown-up in (both by kids and Buster) and rear-ended.

And through it all, she’s done her job–safely taken us where we wanted to go.

Oh, sure, she’s had her moments when she’s driven me absolutely crazy:  the front window that randomly decides when it wants to open and close (never opens when it’s hot or if I’m going through a drive-through, yet one time didn’t want to close when I was going through the car wash), the mirror that randomly comes crashing down on me when I put my visor down (startling and annoying), the little blinking light that flashes when I have a front passenger (even when they are buckled in).  But even with her little quirks, I can honestly say I always felt safe driving her.  And in the end, isn’t that the most important thing? 

Thanks for the memories, Bessie.

Happy Trails.

XO,
Vicki

PS Due to a scheduling glitch, Karen’s bet payoff won’t be on the blog until tomorrow–stay tuned!  : )

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    September 30, 2010 4:29 pm

    Wow, 240K miles….that’s impressive!

  2. sister friend permalink
    September 30, 2010 7:22 pm

    remember when we were going to o’hare for our fabulous trip to new york and we had to stop at the toll both. oh my god the window is not going to go up. too funny! congratulations on your new toy. can not wait to cruise down the road in it! love you!

  3. denise permalink
    October 2, 2010 8:06 am

    I didn’t roll my eyes at all….I just laughed at you:) So excited for you. I can’t wait to take a spin next week in the new ride. I think that it needs to take a road trip down to Champaign soon though!

Leave a Reply

