Skip to content

USDGC Wrap-Up//Last One, Best One

October 12, 2010

Yes, I am back home, but I’m still talking about the USDGC!  Because of some last-minute craziness, I didn’t get to do any blogging between days 3 and 4, so I’m just going to wrap it all up with a big bow here today.

Day 3 was my least favorite day of the tournament.  Two of the other guys John played with were rather crabby and intense.  True, Friday was the last chance for these guys to make the cut, but come on!  The intensity was a little…well, intense.   Plus, all the other guys in John’s group smoked.  I know I lead a pretty sheltered life, but I’m just not ever around smokers.  At all.  Those three were some serious, intense smokers.  One of the guys in John’s group was a former World’s Champ, and another guy had shot a 59 (-9) the day before.  Needless-to-say, everyone was trying hard to bring their A-game.  The World’s Champ ended up shooting a 16 on one of the holes.  Sixteen!  It was so painful to watch.  He just kept throwing the same out-of-bounds shot over and over again!  The guy who shot a 59, ended up with a 71 that day.  Yup.  He was not a happy camper.  I was [thisclose] to calling him for several courtesy violations.  : )  John ended up +1 for the day, which helped him easily make the final cut.

Saturday’s final round was my very favorite of all.  The guys John played with were great, and John shot his tournament best 65 (-3).  By the fourth day, I knew all of the holes by heart, so I spent most of the time holding my breath during the hard shots.  No need, though;  John was definitely saving the best for last.  I think he only missed one putt all day.

 Believe it or not, after 72 holes and four days, I started to get a bit sad that the tournament was coming to an end. A girl could do worse than spending a week in the perfect sunshine at an absolutely gorgeous course!  I feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to experience the USDGC with John.  It was a whole week of focusing on John and his sport.  And you know what?  It was awesome!

Speaking of awesome!  Meet Bear–the disc golf dog.  Bear has been trained to retrieve discs from the water.  He peeks under the water, spots the disc and then paddles his paws super hard until the disc comes off the bottom of the lake.  Then he reaches under and grabs the discs in his mouth.  Very cool.  Also awesome:

This house that sits between holes 9 and 10.  I love, love, love it.  I think John needs to buy it for me so we can live the disc golf life 24/7.  I could watch from the balcony!  Oh, and this totally intrigued me:

A pumpkin?  An acorn?  A pumpkin-shaped acorn?  I kind of wanted to snatch it up and bring it home, but I resisted.

Well, that will do it for this gal’s reporting on the USDGC.  Oh, I forgot to mention–John ended up 37th out of 185.  Not bad, not bad! 

And a good time was had by all!

XO,

Vicki

Leave a Reply

