Skip to content

Life’s Been Good to Me So Far

October 23, 2010

At age 2:  I was probably still getting used to being a big sister.  I was my parents’ “princess,” and the little girl my dad had wished for.

At age 12:  I wore oversized burgundy plastic-framed glasses and was the second tallest in my class.  I was a huge band geek who took honors classes.  I danced with George in the school’s production of M*A*S*H*, and  “went out with” my first boyfriend, Albert, for one day short of a full month.  I won my first writing contest and got to be Mayor for a Day.

At age 22:  I had just graduated from grad school and was working at University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.  I was engaged to John and planning a wedding.  I spent spring break with John and 15 of his closest co-workers in a big, old beach house in Charleston.

At age 32:  I had just completed the AIDSride from Houston to Dallas. I was probably about 5 minutes pregnant with Jack.  The girls were still taking naps.  Life was full of crayons and playdates.

At age 42:  My baby is getting ready for braces, my middle girl is almost as tall as me, and my oldest is in high school.  John and I are close to celebrating our 20th anniversary.  My life is full to the brim with good friends and family.  I am coaching and teaching and writing and dreaming.  I am in a good place.  I love my life, and wouldn’t change a single thing. 

As I blow out my Birthday candles tonight with John, the kids and Christy, I will definitely be counting my blessings and wishing for many more years filled with joy.

XO,

Vicki

Beautiful cupcake picture from marthastewart.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 9:28 am

    Hey, I saw my blog in your “Blogs that Bring me Joy”. Um, that’s me blushing. And saying thanks! But the reason I’m here is because I love this post and the counting of your many blessings. I want to borrow this for my birthday, too. Happy days, happy smiles, happy hugs and happy life!

    • October 23, 2010 9:54 am

      Thanks for all the birthday wishes! I just updated my “Blogs that Bring Me Joy” list last night! Your blog has definitely become one of my favorite daily reads–I find something inspiring on your site every time I click on it (and I love how much you love your husband and kiddos!).

  2. Mom permalink
    October 23, 2010 9:45 am

    And today, on your 42nd birthday, we have just followed down your memory lane in your birthday blog and remember each and every one of the memories you listed. We hope you have a fantastic birthday and that the year to come will be filled to the max with joy, love and happy moments, our dear Princess. We love you as much as you can count up to and a million more!
    Love and hugs,
    Mom and Dad

    • October 23, 2010 9:58 am

      Yay! Thanks Mom and Dad! I had fun doing this blog–I was remembering all the fabulous birthday parties I had growing up–remember the pirate icecream party? Gosh, I loved that place! And all the sleepovers! And my sweet 16th…and that cake you sent down to me when I was in college! I have so many great memories! XO

  3. Uncle Ken permalink
    October 23, 2010 10:05 am

    Have a GREAT birthday Vicki! You’re a special niece! Love you lots!!! Uncle Ken

  4. October 23, 2010 12:32 pm

    Happy birthday, Vicki! I hope you have a wonderful day and an even better year.

  5. Suzanne Rivera permalink
    October 25, 2010 1:02 pm

    Happy Birthday sister in law…….Hope you had a wonderful birthday!!!!! Hope to see you soon!!!!

Leave a Reply

