Skip to content

Not Until They’re 30

October 30, 2010

The worst grounding I ever received happened in 6th grade.  It lasted three weeks.  Three. Solid. Weeks.  It started out as a week, but I was so hysterical, it took me to three weeks before I could get myself under control and stop crying.  I remember my Dad just sitting there calmly saying, “You want it to be 2 weeks?  Keep crying.  How about 3 weeks?”  Somewhere between 3 weeks and 4 weeks, I managed to summon what little control I had to stop the shrieking waterworks.

So what was this epic grounding all about?  My parents wouldn’t let me go see the movie, Grease.  Grease!  Like every other girl my age, I was desperately in love with John Travolta (Danny), and I wanted nothing more than to be Olivia Newton John (Sandy).  Of course, every single one of my friends were allowed to go see the movie.  Every single one!  But no;  my parents wouldn’t let me see a PG movie.  Period.  Oh, sure, they bought me the 2-record album for Christmas that year, but it wasn’t the same.  I was the only 6th grader in town who knew every single word to every single song without having seen one single moment of the movie.  I remember gazing at the inside of that album for hours on end–it contained snapshots from the film.  My friend, Joan Francey, had patiently explained what was happening in each and every photo, so I just imagined the rest.  It wasn’t until I was in college that I actually saw Grease for the first time.  And while I understood that there was some premarital sex going on (implied but never seen), and of course, all of the characters smoked cigarettes (!), on the continuum, I think we’d all have to agree that Grease is pretty tame.  Of course, at the time, I think Grease was considered pretty risqué, and I know my parents were just trying their best to protect me.  I’m not sure if keeping me away from Grease ended up protecting me, but it did make me vow to be a much cooler parent when I had 6th graders.

Well, I’m going to go ahead and apologize right now to my parents and admit that I am NOT a much cooler parent.  

Have you seen this movie?  Um…if you have, please don’t tell me, because I don’t even want to imagine you watching it.   The girls really wanted to see this movie, but I don’t let my kids watch R-rated movies.  Ever.  They both know that, but they still really wanted to see it.  They had seen previews for Get Him to the Greek and thought it looked funny.  They both love Russell Brand from his Bedtime Stories (Disney) roll,  and we ALL loved Jonah Hill in his role in Night at the Museum (Disney).  Well, people, Get Him to the Greek is no Bedtime Stories or Night at the Museum.  Holy cow, people!  I had no idea these things go on.  Seriously.  I know I lead a very sheltered life, but, really?  Wow.

Needless-to-say, I told the girls they were not allowed to watch Get Him to the Greek until they are 30.  And then I told them they are not allowed to tell me they had watched it.  Because, really?  I will never be that cool

Happy Saturday!

XO,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 12:43 pm

    Thank you. Thank you for being the kind of parent that I wouldn’t mind my kids being at your house. We were the same way with our almost 19-year old son and he turned out okay. And we’ll be that way with our younger girls, too!

    • October 30, 2010 1:13 pm

      Sadly,I think you and I are part of a small minority, Monika. Maddie (my 7th grader) told me her friends have already seen this movie. After watching it myself, I can’t imagine any parent thinking it was an appropriate movie for a 7th grader to watch.

  2. Amy permalink
    October 30, 2010 4:00 pm

    I agree with Monika! Keep up the good work!

  3. October 31, 2010 10:25 am

    applause (and hugs) for not being a “cool” parent. for what it’s worth, i’m 31 and i don’t see R-rated movies (how’s that for uncool?) so maybe they’ll never see it?

Leave a Reply

