Skip to content

All We Need Is Love

November 3, 2010

Lately I’ve been thinking about wants vs. needs.  I know this has a lot to do with the upcoming crazy holiday gift-giving season.  People are already asking my kiddos what they want for Christmas.  When Denise asked Jack he said, “I can’t really think of anything I need.”  My kids are not spoiled, but they do know they are leading a privileged life.  They already have so much.  In an effort to curb the amount of “stuff” the kids will receive in the next few months, John and I are considering planning an adventure with the kids, instead of giving them gifts.  They are past the Santa phase (yahoo!) and are old enough to have an opinion about what they’d like to do. 

My brothers and Christy already do this with the kiddos;  the Broadway in Chicago tickets they give us each year are the *perfect* gift.  I know my kids will always remember the various productions they got to see and experience each year.  

 So far everyone’s on board with the adventure idea.  Now we just have to decide what we want to do.  I think I’m actually more excited about this Christmas than ever before.  No boxes, ribbons or bows.  No buyer’s remorse.  Just the 5 of us, an adventure and a whole lot of love. 

Have a delightful day!

XO,

Vicki

“All You Need is Love” subway roll available (here).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. denise permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:21 pm

    wouldn’t an adventure at Wilderness be fun? 🙂

  2. Amy permalink
    November 3, 2010 8:11 pm

    What about a trip to Washington DC? We are thinking of taking the kids there for spring break. They are very excited about seeing the museums and monuments. So am I!

Leave a Reply

