Skip to content

Hopelessly Out of Style

November 12, 2010

Well.  It’s official: I am hopelessly out of style.  Just ask all the good folks who design Christmas paper.   I am getting ready to prep my December Daily book and I’ve had the darndest time finding bright, happy Christmas paper.  Apparently, this year is all about dark vintage looks or non-traditional colors (think pink and baby blue).  Huh.  Don’t get me wrong;   lots of the paper out there is quite lovely.  It’s just not my style.  I’m into brights:  cheerful reds and greens with maybe a splash of apple green for fun.  My whole decorating scheme is in those colors.   Those colors would look darn-right awful in a vintage album.  So I decided to get out of the Christmas section of the scrapbook stores.  I ended up finding lots of good papers scattered around the store, but only a couple in the actual “Christmas section.”  The solid green velvet-y paper above?  I found that in the sports section.  The light green circle paper came out of a section labeled, “Spring.”  Who knew?  I’m hoping that someday brights will come back in favor, but until then, I’ll just have fun searching through all the racks until I find what I need.

XO,

Vicki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 3:14 pm

    I’m looking forward to see your project, Vicki! I’ve already started mine, it will be first time for me doing a project like this.

    • November 12, 2010 4:17 pm

      It’s my first time, too, Gabi! I hope I can keep up with it on a daily basis! I can’t wait to see yours!

      • November 15, 2010 7:02 pm

        I know I will be posting it with a delay since I’m not going to print my photos at home but in Costco. And we are leaving for 2 weeks vacation on Dec 21st so I know I will be finishing in January 😉 But I can’t wait!! 🙂
        Have fun, Vicki!

Leave a Reply

