Skip to content

Hoops and Babies

November 13, 2010

 

Hi There!

It’s a grumpy, rainy day here in Wisconsin, but that’s okay–I’m spending the day watching my favorite Neenah Rocket girls play in a basketball tournament.  We’re on a three-hour break right now;   Maddie’s already played three games today!  They are 2-1 going into their last game.  Oh, I do love basketball.  I’m so glad Maddie is playing!  I’m going to spend my 3 hours doing a little crafting and then head back to cheer her on.

In unrelated news;  Emily is a mommy this weekend, which I guess would make me a grandmother.  I still think I am way too young to be a grandmother, but what are you going to do?  Emily is taking care of an electronic baby this weekend as part of her Infant and Child Development class.  She has to wear a special bracelet which she can not remove.  The bracelet is linked to the back of the baby.  Every time the baby gets fussy, Emily has to swipe the baby’s back with her bracelet and then figure out what it needs:  feeding, changing or just comforting.  There’s nothing like seeing your 14-year-old daughter head out  of school carrying a baby in a car seat to make you a little queasy in the tummy. : ) She came up this morning looking exhausted and said the baby was up “all night!”  It was hard not to laugh.  She’s pretty much confined to the house this weekend, otherwise she has to take the baby along.  A trip to the mall?  Maddie’s basketball game?  I don’t think so.  : )  We came home from Maddie’s games to find Emily and baby “Joy” sitting together on the couch watching “Elf.” (Side note:  I love that movie, it never gets old;  I like smiling.  Smiling’s my favorite!)

Well, I’m off to create. Have a great Saturday, everybody!

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom/Grandma permalink
    November 13, 2010 5:57 pm

    I’m so glad this wasn’t in vogue when my kids were in high school! Hope you all survive the weekend. Best of luck Emily and Joy! It may well be the best birth control ever!

  2. Mom/Grandma permalink
    November 13, 2010 6:01 pm

    Best of luck to Maddie and her team. Hope the outcome was fantastic! Three games and more to go, sounds like an exhausting day to me. We are still enjoying the delights of receiving the class pictures for the year, which arrived today. My pin is on my purse and I’m ready to brag! The pictures are fantastic and I can hardly wait to show them off!

    Love and hugs to all,

    Grandma and Grandpa

Leave a Reply

