Skip to content

Otherwise Known As…

November 19, 2010

 

Hi There!

The past 24+ hours have been a wee bit crazy…in the very best way.  The teachers and staff at Jack’s school, Clayton Elementary, have been knee-deep in parent/teacher conferences;  one after another, after another, for a day and a half!  Bless their hearts!  That’s a whole lot of work!

The past two years I have been in charge of Staff Appreciation at Clayton.  Of all the jobs I’ve done over the years, heading up the Staff Appreciation committee has got to be one of the most rewarding.  Seriously.  I can’t tell you enough how important I think teachers are.  Why, they are shaping my kids’ lives every day.  Every day!  My job, my mission, is to make sure they know how much the other parents and I appreciate all their hard work.  As a committee, we’ve cooked and baked and crafted for the teachers.  We’ve prepared breakfast, lunch and dinners.  We’ve made signs, written notes and delivered their favorite snacks to their desks.  Last night we whipped up a super dinner (Emily’s Spicy Island Shrimp) so the staff could sit down together, enjoy a meal, and relax for a bit.  Later that evening, we wheeled our “Treat Trolley,” loaded with caffeine and chocolate (and decorated with the cute new bunting I won!), around during conferences.  The teachers were down-right giddy.  Each time my fabulous committee and I do something for them, they about flip out with happiness.   It is SO fun!  It’s the ultimate win-win:  we appreciate them, and they feel happy and life is good.  There is nothing like the feeling of making others feel appreciated!

I love being known as the “Staff Appreciation Lady.”  I can’t think of another title I would wear as proudly.

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. betsy permalink
    November 19, 2010 4:02 pm

    I’m your in-laws’ cousin in Lake Villa, IL. Your MIL sent me the link to your blog sometime ago and I have TRULY enjoyed reading it! Someday we’re going to HAVE to meet! As a former teacher (33 years to be exact!) I can say that today’s entry had me smiling. If there’s one thing I wish I could help parents understand it’s how incredibly hard most teachers work…there is SOME dead wood, I realize…and how VERY much they want every one of their students to succeed. I’m thrilled to see that you and your committee realize that! That building is SO fortunate to have you! What lucky teachers! And I’m sure they realize that! Keep it up and keep up this wonderful blog!

    P.S. I LOVED the crocheted button necklace someone made for you this summer. Are those for sale???

    Betsy L.

  2. Mom/Grandma permalink
    November 19, 2010 7:50 pm

    What a super job you are doing. I can’t remember that there were any parents who made an effort any where near as amazing as you do for the teachers who spend their days teaching and shaping your children’s lives. Hooray for you and all the folks who serve with you and do so much to make the wonderful teachers in your school so happy. Happy teachers have to lead to happier, brighter
    students. Kudos to you and your committee.

    Love and hugs,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

