Skip to content

Advent Journal

November 24, 2010

Hi There!

The Bible Study gals came over on Monday to do some crafting, and I had no trouble convincing them to join me in my Advent journal project.  As you know, I’m planning on doing my very first “December Daily” mini album to document all the fun adventures the kids and John I have until Christmas.  And as excited as I am to capture the decorating and wrapping and other fun moments, I felt like I wanted to do something faith-based, too.  So I’m going to be working on two books:  my December Daily and my Advent journal.  

Most Advent calendars involve treats and candy and a countdown to more treats and gifts.  This journal is different;  I filled it with tasks, some simple, some more difficult, that I wanted to accomplish during the Advent season.  The premise is simple:  I’ve already been given so many gifts.  What can I give back to show appreciation for what I have?  I did some research and found some very inspiring blogs.  I borrowed heavily from here, got some inspiration from here, and made up the rest by myself.

Putting together the journals was a snap–they are just simple decorated cardboard covers with ring bindings.  Everyone got to decorate their journal the way they wanted.  Inside, there are 28 individual pages with a task printed at the top of each page.  The rest of the page was left blank so each woman could journal a bit about that day’s activity.  Everyone assembled their books in a different order, so on any given day, we can check in and hear about everyone’s different adventures.  I hope by Christmas morning to have a full journal that documents my journey through the Advent season.  I’m going to be sure to include my kiddos and John in as many of the activities as I can.  I think it’s going to make this holiday season especially meaningful.

The Advent season begins on Sunday.

Have a beautiful day!

XO,
Vicki

PS  Here’s a peek at some of the other journals.  Sherry’s journal:

Amy’s Journal:

Marsha’s Journal:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ken Hawley permalink
    November 24, 2010 8:40 am

    Vicki –
    You continue to AMAZE me each and every day with your daily blog! I so enjoy reading it and today’s was so wonderful and creative! Can’t wait to see you all on Christmas.

  2. Kelly Arens permalink
    November 23, 2011 10:03 am

    I think I want to try this this year!

Leave a Reply

