Skip to content

Handmade Love//Christmas Ornaments

November 29, 2010

Hello, Friends!

The Sunday after Thanksgiving in the Terlap house can only mean one thing:  Christmas decorating!  Yahoo!  I love, love, love bringing all the boxes upstairs and unpacking all of my Christmas treasures!  Sorting through the ornament box is one of my very favorite things to do each year.   John is in charge of lights, and the kids and I have a blast hanging ornaments.  I pretty much let them have free reign;  my only rule is that the handmade ornaments have to go on the tree first.  I am crazy about handmade ornaments.  

Every year my Grandma Dorothy would make Tom, Christy and I an ornament for our tree.  I am not exaggerating when I say that seeing what ornament she made for us each year was one of the highlights of my Christmas. 

My Grandma (my dad’s mom) made quite a few ornaments for all of us, too.  I love all the colorful felt and beads she used.

Lots of times Grandma and Papa would make ornaments together, with my Papa carving out a treasure, and my Grandma adding the bows and glitter.  I’ll show you some of those later on this week.

When I found out that John came from a family of homemade-ornament-lovers, too, I knew we were a match made in heaven.  John’s grandma has carried on the yearly ornament tradition for my kids.

A few years ago, John and I started the handmade ornament tradition in our own family.  Each year we draw names from a hat and make an ornament for that person.  Jack made me this one that I looove:

I’ve got to admit that I’ve never seen an ugly Christmas tree.  But I do think that my tree, filled with all of its handmade love ornaments, is the most beautiful of all.

Do you have a favorite ornament?

XO,

Vicki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    November 30, 2010 6:56 pm

    I love your tree! Handmade ornaments are the best! How do you keep them in such great shape? Do you store them in a special way?

Leave a Reply

