Skip to content

Brave Love

January 4, 2011

I received a whole big bunch of fabulous gifts this year, including this *lovely* necklace from my mom and dad.  I’m pretty sure I’ve worn it every day since I received it.  I’ve got to tell you, I love wearing my little family so close to my heart.

The necklace was designed by Lisa Leonard, a jewelry designer and mom of two.  She designed this necklace when her son, David, was getting ready to undergo heart surgery.  She named the design, “Brave Love.” 

I have been blessed with three healthy children (thank God), but there have been times during the last 14 years when I have had to be braver than I ever thought I could be.  I distinctly remember calmly singing to Madeline the entire 45 minute trip to the emergency room while her little forehead was split wide open.  I made it through the endless checking-in process and the strap-her-to-the-board-so-they-can-sew-her-up process and then got her home safe and sound.  Then I locked myself in my bathroom, called my parents and sobbed.  Still, when I needed to be brave, I was

I have confronted parents, teachers, school administrators and one very stubborn ballet instructor on my children’s behalf.  Each time I ended up being pretty amazed that I was able to stand firm and be such a strong advocate for my children. 

I wonder what it is about motherhood that makes women better, braver versions of themselves? 

I think Lisa had it right.  I think it’s love.  Brave Love.

I love my necklace, Mom and Dad!

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 12:47 pm

    My youngest, Victoria, had to have stitches, too. It tore my heart out to have to strap her into her car seat in the back seat while I drove to the hospital 30 minutes away. Oh, and then the strapping in. I try to forget that, too. Brave love. Indeed.

  2. Mom/Grandma permalink
    January 4, 2011 6:21 pm

    And we love you, Princess. Your have always been brave when you need to be and I am sure you always will. It just seems to be something that Mom’s come equipped to be and do when it’s needed.

    We just don’t always know when we will be called upon to be brave and give encouragement to those we love, but somehow when called upon, we manage to walk the mile.

    Love and hugs,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

