Skip to content

52Photos//Independence

January 13, 2011

Our first weeks’ 52Photos prompt was “Independence.”  Independence?  Here I thought the prompts would be easy, you know, like beauty, flowers or joy.  Nope.  Not even close.  They gave us “Independence.”  I’ve got to be honest, I’ve been stewing over that theme all week.  All week. I thought about all the clichés (flags, stars and stripes), and peeked at what the rest of the group was posting over on the flickr group.  Nothing seemed right.  But then it kind of hit me;  my picture needed to have something to do with writing.   I’ve always done my best “independent” thinking on paper.  Writing has always been something I’ve done just for me, because I enjoy it…because it helps me figure things out…and because it allows me to be creative.  In my journals I’ve had the freedom, the “independence,” to say what I wanted and to write about how I felt.  Just for me. Writing has also led me to some of the greatest “independent” adventures of my life.  

As a child I wrote in fuzzy pink diaries.  Through middle school and high school, it was my writing that distinguished me from all the other kids.  In college, my love of writing soon had me switching from a psychology major to a rhetoric major.  As a rhetoric major, I could write my way to a degree.  Brilliant!  And then, because I just wasn’t ready to give up writing, I went ahead and stayed to get a master’s in journalism.

Fast forward to marriage and motherhood.  I’ve been a stay-at-home mom since Emily was 6 months old.  I tried going back to work part-time, but it just didn’t feel right.  I have never regretted my decision to stay home with my kids.  But even early on, I felt like I wanted to use my writing degrees in some way.  So I put together some writing classes and started teaching home school kids to love to write.  For two magical hours a week, I got to share my love of writing.  I met some extraordinary kids, and I watched them become strong, independent thinkers and writers.  From there it kind of took on a life of its own.   Soon I had public kids who wanted to take my writing classes, “just for fun.”  It was the very best of both worlds:  I got to be a stay-at-home mom who taught and wrote on the side, when and where I wanted.  Plus, I ended up earning some money, which helped me feel a bit of “independence,” too.  When the girls’ swim coach found out I was a writer, he asked me if I would like to write a weekly column.  That opportunity led me to the 2008 Olympic Swimming Trials where I got paid to watch Michael Phelps and Ryan Lochte break world records.  When I moved away from Texas, I thought my teaching days were done, but last fall, another group of public school kids somehow found their way to me.  Each Monday afternoon they shared their writing, made me laugh, and reaffirmed my love of writing. 

My little “independent” hobby has changed my life.  And while I might have traded my pink fuzzy diary for a PC with spellcheck, I’m still writing every day.  And it still brings me joy and a brilliant feeling of “independence.”

Whew.  That was kind of a big, ‘ole explanation for what is essentially a picture of pencils.  : )

Next week’s prompt is “evening,”  which I’m hoping will be easier than “independence.”  : )

Have a fabulous day, friends!

XO,

Vicki

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 10:05 am

    a lovely peek into “you”

  2. Donie permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:03 am

    Love this!
    So glad we found YOU along this writing adventure that is your fabulous life story.

    Sending love !

    • January 14, 2011 6:36 pm

      I remember when you approached me about teaching the Fab 4. I couldn’t believe public school kids would want to take extra writing classes! Life wouldn’t be the same without them or you!!

  3. January 14, 2011 4:47 pm

    Wow Vicki. Great explanation and great photo.

    I’m looking forward to the rest of the year’s photos. Have popped you into my blog reader now.

    sharon71
    http://quiltsister.wordpress.com

    • January 14, 2011 5:45 pm

      Thanks for the kind words, Sharon! I’m so glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

