Skip to content

Top Books//2010

January 19, 2011

Hi There, Friends!

I have a *rare* nothing on the schedule day today, and I thought it was high-time I compiled my “Top 10 Books of 2010” list.  I have been keeping a book journal since 2005 (I wrote about it here), and each January I go back through all of my reviews and make my Top 10 list.  I usually send out my list to a few family and friends in hopes that they, too, will enjoy them.  Sometimes they do, and other times…not so much.  At any rate, I would highly recommend this year’s group of 13 books.  I hope you love them as much as I did.  And if you do end up reading one and love (or hate!) it…let me know, I’d love to hear your thoughts!  Also,  I love book recommendations–please feel free to leave me some titles in the comments!

So..for my fabulous readers who love to read book reviews (Hi Lu and Denise!) here are my favorites from the last year:

2010 Favorites

 

A delicious page-turner.  Lots of intrigue and, well…sex.  It kept me guessing until the end.

Franzen manages to make the most unlikable characters likable in this excellent book. (Thanks to Lu for the recommendation!).

A sweet piece of literature.  Gentle and touching.  Loved it!

A big ‘ole book describing the journey of an escaped criminal who tries to turn his life around in India.  Roberts brings India alive for those of us who’ve never been there.

A story of triumph, the strength of love, and the bonds of family.  Excellent.

Vivid and real.  Every detail in this book is accounted for.  Loved it.

The most beautifully written book of 2010.  You’ll fall for Olive by the end.  I promise.

Beautiful and heartbreaking, but in a good way.  I’m still thinking about Alice.

A fabulous main character who is hard not to cheer for.  Young Adult fiction at its very best!

The choices a mother needs to make, and her daughter’s thoughts on those choices.  A brilliant WWII Holocaust story.

Family dysfunction at its very best.  Loved it!

You’ll be thinking about this strong woman long after you finish reading her story.

I’m still haunted by these characters.  A stunning story.

Happy Reading, Friends!!

XO,
Vicki

**Please note:  with the exception of the one Young Adult selection, these books are all for mature audiences**

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 2:24 pm

    I love your description of A Reliable Wife, it’s perfect! Looks like you had a great reading year. There are a couple on here that I haven’t heard off so I’m going to scurry off to check them out!

    • January 19, 2011 4:11 pm

      Definitely let me know what you think of the ones you read!

  2. January 19, 2011 3:01 pm

    Great list Vicki. I love reading but don’t do anywhere near as much as I used to.

    Have read one of the books on your list – Shantaram – I’ve been lucky enough to spend a few months travelling in India, and you are right about how this book brings it to life.

    I might keep a lookout for a few of these books.

    • January 19, 2011 4:12 pm

      Wow!! A couple of months in India–I’m jealous! That must have been unbelievable! Was Roberts’ India close to the real thing?

      • January 19, 2011 5:31 pm

        I traveled through the north but the general feel of it was very similar. It was an amazing trip. Some of the pics are in my flickr.

        2003_India (104)
  3. January 22, 2011 9:46 pm

    Thanks for the list, Vicki. I will be definitely putting some of them on my to-read list. I LOVED still Alice, now Lisa Genova has a new book called Left neglected, I can’t wait to read it!

    • January 22, 2011 9:51 pm

      Oh! I didn’t know she had a new book out!! I’ll definitely be picking it up! I thought Still Alice was brilliant.

      • January 22, 2011 10:02 pm

        Ugh! I just checked and there are 15 (!) holds on it at the library. I just might need to go ahead and buy it! : )

  4. Deanna permalink
    February 6, 2011 12:11 pm

    Currently loading up my Kindle for deployment with most of these.

    • February 6, 2011 12:22 pm

      I hope you love them all!! I will be thinking you you, my friend! Stay safe! XO

Leave a Reply

