Skip to content

52Photos//Evening

January 20, 2011

I had no problem coming up with how I wanted to represent “evening” for this week’s 52Photos challenge.  Around here, evenings are reserved for family time.  We try to eat together each night and then hang out together.  With very few exceptions, if it’s a weekday night, we’re all together.  Whether we’re at Emily’s swim meet or Maddie’s basketball game or Jack’s archery class, we’re pretty much together.  And you know what?  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I used to pack my week night schedule full of meetings and clubs and evenings out.  But as the kids got older, John and I decided we needed to simplify.  Oh, sure, I still go to PTA meetings and an occassional movie with a friend, but if I can help it, I like to plan things during the day while the kids are in school, or on the weekend.  As it is, I only get a few hours each day with them during the week.  And the truth is, I enjoy hanging out with my kids. 

Now before I get completely busted, I have to make a full disclosure:  I don’t actually like to play Monopoly.  I’m always up for a good game of Scrabble, and I’m willing to drop pretty much anything to play cards, but Monopoly is definitely not my fave (but it makes for one heck of a cute picture…and it’s really just a “symbol” of evening activities, right?).   Monopoly is just so darn long.   And don’t even get me started on The Game of Life.  At our house, The Game of Life always ends with tears.  Seriously; Every. Single. Time.  My super-competitive, high-achieving kids freak out when they don’t get a career that fits with their life goals.  Oh, and if they don’t end up getting the house they want…watch out.  Needless-to-say, we don’t play The Game of Life very often.  We do play a lot of Wii and Rockband and Clue and Sequence.  We also craft together a lot.  There are a few TV shows we all love to watch together, like  Top Chef and The Next Great Baker and NCIS.  Sometimes we gather all of our blankets and pillows, throw them on the family room floor and then snuggle up together to watch a movie.  I love those nights best.

What do you do in the evening?

XO,

Vicki

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 7:40 am

    I adore your evening routine. We are almost always together, too AND I abhor Monopoly for the very same reason you do. Haven’t played it since the 3-day game ordeal about 10 years ago when we just had Zach!

    • January 20, 2011 1:21 pm

      Oh my goodness–a 3-day game is my nightmare! : ) You must be one heck of a great mom to play a 3-day game of Monopoly!

  2. January 20, 2011 1:08 pm

    My kids are grown up now but when we all get together we love to play Apples to Apples! So much fun 🙂

    • January 20, 2011 1:19 pm

      Oh! How could I forget Apples to Apples? We love that game, too! Even the grandparents and aunts and uncles will play that one with us!

  3. January 20, 2011 3:05 pm

    My evenings are a whirl of feeding, bath and bedtime for a little one, as well as cooking my own dinner. At the moment I just try to enjoy spending time with her but I hope to do the type of family time that you describe when she is older.

    • January 20, 2011 4:58 pm

      Oh, I remember what it was like having a 2 year old! I would pretty much collapse once I got them in bed! : ) But I would give *anything* to snuggle with baby Emily once again. She’s 6′ now! We just stick to hugs now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

