Skip to content

Whoo Loves a Cute Valentine?

January 22, 2011

What’s not to love?!?  This sweet little guy will be heading home with one of Jack’s friends on Valentine’s Day.   Jack and I are going to make a big bunch of these between now and February 14th.   I’ll do all the cutting and pasting, and he’ll add his own message on the backside.  I’m kind of giddy about the way these cuties turned out.  I especially like that we can add whatever message we want  on the front.  The first one I made was pink and the pull-out tab said, “whoo loves you,” but Jack kind of put the k-bosh on that.  I guess “love” is a little mushy for a 4th grade boy.  No problem!  We changed the messages to “whoo is a great friend,” and “whoo is lots of fun to be around,”  instead.  Much better!

These are super-easy to put together, and the good news is they look good in pretty much any color–feel free to use what you have on hand!  I free-handed the circles (eyes, eyeballs, chest).  The beak is a diamond.  The wings are just flower-petals.  The slide looks like this on the back:

Before you place your stopper on the end, make sure your full message shows on the front.  After I finished my slide, I covered the back with coordinating paper.  Make sure you only glue around the outsides of your front and back pieces so your slide will work.

Happy crafting!

XO,

Vicki

PS  I wonder why we still say, “cut and paste.”  I haven’t used paste since grammar school!  : )

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 5:36 pm

    cuuuuuute!

  2. January 22, 2011 5:49 pm

    Oh my gosh, this is so creative. Love it!

  3. January 22, 2011 9:43 pm

    This is such a cute project, Vicki!

  4. Mom/Grandma permalink
    January 22, 2011 11:56 pm

    Vicki, you may not sew or knit, but you certainly are creative in so many ways! it is awesome what you can do with some scraps of paper, scissors and glue and some odds and ends from your ‘stash’. Your family and their friends are so lucky!

    Love and hugs,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

