Skip to content

Recess Duty

January 25, 2011

Hello, Friends!

I’m getting ready to bundle up and head to Jack’s school to take over afternoon recess duty.  For a half hour, I will stand outside and watch hundreds of Clayton kiddos run, jump, swing, climb and skip around the playground.  I’m not going to lie, it’s not really as fun as it sounds, especially when it’s 12 degrees outside.  But you know what?  It is absolutely, hands down, the teacher’s *favorite* reward.  No joke.  They looove when my volunteers take over recess duty for the week.  They get down-right giddy about those 15 minutes of freedom. 

When I volunteered in Maddie’s 5th grade classroom, I watched Mrs. Gregory work and work and work with her students.  I’m telling you, that woman never stopped.  She’d work through her lunch hour and tutor during her free periods.  Just because.  She is that kind of teacher.  I seriously worried about the poor woman’s bladder.  I mean, when do teachers get to potty?

Anyway. 

When I took over the Staff Appreciation job, I tried to brainstorm easy, low-cost ways we could show the Clayton staff some big appreciation.  I got to thinking about Mrs. Gregory and her non-stop day.  And then I thought, “Hey!  What if we took over their recess duty?”  I pitched the idea to my fabulous committee (seriously…best committee in the school!), convinced them this was going to be fun, and printed out some “Get out of Jail” free cards which explained what we were going to do for the teachers.

Oh. My. Goodness!  You would have thought we gave them a week’s paid vacation!  The response was overwhelming!  One half-hour of our time made the staff’s whole week.  It. Was. Awesome!

Need an easy way to thank your child’s teachers and staff?  Try taking over their recess duty. 

They’ll think you’re a ROCK STAR, I promise!

XO,

Vicki

6 Comments leave one →
  1. "Uncle" Ken Hawley permalink
    January 25, 2011 1:38 pm

    Vicki –
    I want you and your committee to come to our school and bring some of your “joy!” Your committee sounds great and I’m sure those teachers totally appreicate everything. They are so lucky to have you guys and YOU as the chair!

  2. "Uncle" Ken Hawley permalink
    January 25, 2011 1:39 pm

    Vicki – I want you and your committee to come to my school district for a week! Do you hire out??? I’m sure those teachers really appreciate you guys! Wish we had someone like you to bring “joy” to our schools.

    • January 25, 2011 8:17 pm

      Hmm…I think you should hire me to come down there and train your volunteers! You can plan my trip around Decatur Days…I’ve always wanted to go! : ) XO

  3. Dede Sharp permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:19 pm

    Hey Vicki – I had training camp duty twice this week and it was soooo easy. Only one kid had a question on how to spell a word! It seems like such a little thing to do for the teachers/staff. Maybe we should do it more often?

    Dede

  4. February 1, 2011 8:51 pm

    I’m a teacher and HOLY COW I would kiss you if you came & gave me 30 minutes to work in my classroom sans-students!!! Do you have any idea how much I could get done? AWESOME idea!!

    • February 2, 2011 1:50 pm

      Hi Heidi!! Thanks for stopping by my blog!! Maybe you could innocently mention this post to your PTA. It’s such an easy way for your volunteers to show you guys some love!

Leave a Reply

