Skip to content

Random Thursday

January 27, 2011

 

1. I am left-handed.

2. I am directionally challenged.

3. I think being directionally challenged is a serious disorder.

4. I tend to be friends with other people who share my disorder.

5. It makes it hard to get places when nobody knows how to get anywhere.

6. I have terrible short-term memory.

7. If I don’t write it down, it’s not going to get done.

8. I always park in the same exact row when I go grocery shopping.

9. If I do not park in the same row, I will not be able find my car (see #2 and #6).

10. I found out that drinking diet soda can damage your memory.

11. I kicked a 20-year Diet Coke habit last spring.

12. I went cold-turkey.

13. I’ve been clean ever since.

14.  Did you know blueberries are brain food?

15. I eat tons of blueberries every week.

16. I’m hoping to reverse the Diet Coke damage.

17. So far, it hasn’t worked.

18. One time I forgot to bring my daughter home from a swim practice where I was the coach.

19. That was not one of my best “super mom” moments.

20. I’m pretty sure she’s going to talk about that in a counseling session somewhere down the line.

21. She says she’s over it, but I’m not.

22. One time I read a book about a kid whose family left him at a funeral. With the dead guy.

23. Good thing the other coach waited with Emily until I raced back to get her.

24. Being left at swim practice is better than being left at a funeral.

25. When I’m with John, I never have to worry about where to go.

26. My sister told me that she feels that way when she is with me.

27. I’m still surprised we made it home from Paris.

28. It only took me three days to figure out Paris’ super-easy, user-friendly metro system.

29. When I figured it out, I’m pretty sure a little light bulb clicked on over my head.

30. I felt very smart and wanted to explain it to my sister.

31. She had no interest in learning how to use the metro.

32. She did have an interest in finding a gin and tonic.

33. Finding a gin and tonic in Paris is harder than one would imagine.

34. But not as hard as finding a post office.

35. We found both on the very last day.

36. After looking for 6 days.

37. Did I mention how happy I was that we made it back to the US together?

38. Speaking of happy, I bought a set of the pinwheels pictured above.

39. Is there anything happier than a pinwheel?

40. The fact that the pinwheels are made out of old maps makes me even more ridiculously happy.

41. Because even though I can’t read maps, I still think they are pretty.

42. I also collect globes.

43. You’d think that someone who had a fascination with maps and globes would know how to get around.

44. You’d be wrong.

45. You know, because I’m handicapped.

XO,

Vicki

You can buy your own set of cute pinwheels (here)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Dee permalink
    January 27, 2011 9:17 am

    You crack me up! Thanks for making my day!!

  2. Gina permalink
    January 27, 2011 11:02 am

    Thanks for the smile Vicki!

  3. January 27, 2011 2:44 pm

    You crack me up, Vicki! Thanks for the laugh!

    I like blueberries too, Katrin loves them. Love love the pinwheels, one day I will buy a globe for our house too. I like them but never had one.

    Have a great rests of the week! xoxo

  4. Gayle permalink
    January 27, 2011 4:38 pm

    This is so cute and funny, dear Vicki, but your faults are minimal in my age bracket. These are the wonder years! At least you remember not to drink Diet Coke and eat blueberries. I use blueberries to garnish my Diet Coke. Our atlas and globe still shows the USSR so we’re planning a trip there. Some day you’ll look at this list and be astounded by what you remembered you forgot.

  5. Deanna permalink
    January 28, 2011 1:35 pm

    Random Friday… Granted, my mind is definitely elsewhere (starting to turn towards Afghanistan). But this evening, I took my road bike all the way downtown to my bike shop, where I was going to pick up my previously dropped off get-around bike. So I discussed the issues with the road bike, paid for the get-around bike, and walked away without a bicycle. Walked halfway up the street when I went Duh! Went back and picked up the get-around bike. 🙂

    • January 28, 2011 1:40 pm

      So funny!! That is a very Vicki thing to do, Deanna!! : ) Don’t start getting ditzy now; I’m counting on you to keep it together in Afghanistan so you come home in one piece (and hopefully with lots of good stories!!).

  6. sister friend permalink
    January 31, 2011 7:58 am

    can you hear me laughing all the way up there in wisconsin?!? that was awesome!!!! thanks for bring back those memories. you made my day!!!!

    • January 31, 2011 1:44 pm

      Girrrlll!! I heard you loud and clear! : ) Love you big bunches!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

