Skip to content

Book Lover Invites

January 31, 2011

It’s no secret that I love books.  And paper.  And invitations (who doesn’t love a good invitation?).  When I stumbled upon this invite made by Jordan over at Oh Happy Day, it was love at first sight.  Books and paper and invites rolled into one?  Oh, my!  I just happened to be in the early stages of planning a birthday brunch for the fabulous Ms. Amy, and knew the book invites would be perfect for her party.  I even went ahead and asked everyone to bring their favorite book as a gift.  What could be better than getting a whole bunch of new books for your birthday?

I’m not going to go into a whole bunch of directions–Jordan goes step-by-step through the process on her blog if you’re interested.  I will tell you that I had a blast going to thrift stores to search for old books.  The ones I rescued for this project looked like they had been sitting in someone’s attic for years.  I tried to find fun titles, but really, any old book will do.  I should also point out that this project is a labor of love, what with all the measuring and cutting and all.  You might not want to pick the thickest book on the shelf–your index finger will thank me later. 

Amy and the rest of the guests were tickled with the invites.  I’m not sure if any of them are using their books to hide secret treasures or not, but I’d like to think that the books are sitting on a shelf somewhere enjoying their second life.

Happy Crafting!

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    January 31, 2011 6:59 pm

    I love my invite so much- never thought to hide a secret message in it. Maybe I will do that soon. I love that you showered your creativity on me and made my 40th so super special. xoxo

  2. January 31, 2011 7:57 pm

    So awesome. I have quite a few books sitting in the garage and this would make a great birthday gift to include a little necklace in. Such a special way to celebrate a birthday!

Leave a Reply

