Skip to content

The Secret to (almost) 20 Years of Marriage

February 5, 2011

Hi, Friends!

Did you hear this verse on your wedding day?  I know we did.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I had my heart set on this verse long before we actually met with the priest to plan the ceremony.

I just love it.  Don’t you?

Next year John and I will celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.  Twenty years.  And while I can’t even pretend to be an expert on marriage, I can tell you that the secret to a good one (which we definitely have!) is all contained in the above verse. 

Read it again.

It’s full of all the stuff good relationships are made of:  patience, kindness, trust, hope, perseverance, truth. 

It’s all good.

I once read an article that said most people are nicer to strangers than they are to those they love the best. 

I remember thinking, “What?  No way.” 

But then the author went on to give some specific examples.  She mentioned how people say “excuse me” when they bump into strangers.  They let strangers go before them in traffic.  Hold a door when they see someone struggling with too much baggage.  Lend a hand to someone in need.

Then she challenged her readers to pay attention to how they act at home.  She asked, “Are you as kind to your husband and kids are you are to strangers?  Are you patient and kind and always willing to cheerfully lend a hand?”

That article really made me think and pay attention to how I treated John, and then later, my kids.  It’s easy to get frustrated when my (very capable kids and husband) ask me to do something for them that I know they can do for themselves.  And I’ve been known to lose my patience with them from time to time.  But the truth is, John and my kids mean the world to me. 

So I try. 

Really hard. 

I try to live by that verse I heard on my wedding day (best marriage advice ever).

And so far, so good.

Twenty years, next year.

XO,

Vicki

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    February 5, 2011 1:58 pm

    Congratulations to a fantastic couple! We are blessed to have you in our lives. I love this verse and I think it applies to more that just marriage. Now, to be intentional with the words of wisdom it gives.

    • February 6, 2011 11:55 am

      I completely agree, friend! I think you do so well living this verse!

  2. February 5, 2011 9:54 pm

    LOVE this post, Vicki!!

  3. February 6, 2011 6:16 pm

    beautifully said, vicki. (almost) 20 years is amazing!

Leave a Reply

