Skip to content

Beside Myself With Worry

February 9, 2011

Oh, Friends!

I think I broke my best buddy last night.  He was laying down next to me and I caught his hind quarter when I put the footrest down on the recliner.  He yelped a little and then got up and started limping.  Limping turned into full-out-I’m-not-even-going-to-put-that-left-back-leg-down-on-the-ground.  He just did a little three-legged hop around the house before bed last night. 

This morning he didn’t even get up when I came down.  And then I couldn’t get him to go outside to go potty.  And he feels extra warm to the touch.   I finally managed to get him outside a little bit ago.  I had to help him get back up the outdoor steps.  He just looked at me with those big chocolate eyes and I knew he was asking for help.

I’m taking him into the vet in an hour.  It was the soonest they could get him in.  I had to reschedule my appointment with my surgeon in order to get him in. 

I told them it was a family emergency. 

And it really feels like it is.

I hope my bestest buddy is okay.

UPDATE:  It’s not good, friends.  I am so, so sad.  Buster has the equivalent of a completely blown ACL.  In other words, he ripped the tendon that holds his knee in place.  He is on an anti-inflamatory for the swelling and a narcotic for the pain.  We have some big decisions to make in the next couple of days.  Surgery is an option, but a very expensive option.  For now, the pain meds seem to have relaxed him.  He’s been pretty sleepy since we got home from the vet.

XO,

Vicki

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 9:16 am

    oh no! thinking of you both. please update when you can.

  2. February 9, 2011 9:17 am

    Let us know how he is. And yes, it is a family emergency. Big hugs.

  3. Dede Sharp permalink
    February 10, 2011 12:42 am

    I’m so, so sorry!! Pets are definitely part of the family. I hope things go well for you all.

  4. sister friend permalink
    February 10, 2011 7:04 am

    my heart is breaking. big b is the best dog ever. i’m so sad.

  5. Gayle permalink
    February 10, 2011 11:50 am

    How sad! Buster is such a sweet dog. Hoping for some good news.

Leave a Reply

