Skip to content

Happy Heart Day~

February 14, 2011

Hi Friends!

Can I start by telling you just how excited I am that my forever Valentine is flying home today???  YAHOO!  This past week has been a doozy.  I’ll be glad to have him by my side again. (At least until the middle of March when he heads to Peru!).

What are you guys doing to celebrate hearts day?  I’m getting ready to head over to the surgery center with Buster for his pre-op consultation.  (Fingers crossed that he checks out a-okay so we can go ahead and get that surgery done!).  Later I’m getting together with a bunch of my *favorite* gals for a birthday lunch.  I’m bringing my *famous* crabcakes. (YUM!).

Speaking of yum, here are the sweet recipes from Saturday’s party.  As I said in the comments, these are super-easy.  Heck–you could whip these up and give them to your Valentine this evening!

Butterfinger Sandwich Cookies

Ritz crackers (must be Ritz–you need their buttery goodness!)
Smooth Peanut Butter (I use Jif)
2 bags Nestle white chocolate chips

Go ahead and make a bunch of peanut butter/Ritz sandwiches.  Make sure the flat sides of the crackers are facing out.  Melt your white chocolate chips in  the microwave, one bag at a time.  I do mine for 1 minute on high, take them out and stir, then by 30 second intervals until they are smooth.  Dip the sandwiches into the chocolate.  Cool on wax paper.  You can add fun sprinkles if you wish. : )

Red Velvet Cake BonBons

1 red velvet cake mix
1 can of cream cheese frosting
1 lg. bag of chocolate chips

Make cake mix per box directions in a 9×13 pan.  Cool a bit in the pan, then crumble the whole cake into a large bowl to finish the cooling process.  Once the cake is cool, add in the can of frosting and mix well.  It will look like a wet red mess.  Cover the bowl and put it in the fridge to get cold.  I put mine in the fridge over night, but you could do it for less if you’re in a hurry.  Probably needs a couple of hours, at least.  Scoop the cake mix out in balls.  I use my medium Pampered Chef scoop, but I have also done them by hand (very messy!).  Melt chocolate chips, same as above.  Cover cake balls in chocolate.  Place them on wax paper on a cookie sheet and then stick them in the fridge to harden completely.  These bonbons are actually better served at room temperature, but you can store them (covered) in the fridge for 2 weeks.

Enjoy, friends!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

XO,

Vicki

Picture spotted (here)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deborah Matheny permalink
    February 14, 2011 9:23 am

    Love your blog entries 🙂 Sending good thoughts for Buster today. Happy V-day to you!

Leave a Reply

