Skip to content

Two Thumbs Up!

February 15, 2011

Hi Friends!

Buster’s big surgery is over and everything went well! 

He was one completely scared pup when I dropped him off this morning.  There were two other big ‘ole dogs in the waiting room when we arrived.  Poor Buster was shaking like a leaf.  I had to wait with him in the little children’s play area so he couldn’t see the other dogs.  : )  I kind of wish I could go get him right now.  I’m worried about him staying there overnight by himself.  When he comes home, he’ll have to wear one of those plastic cones around his head.  I can’t even imagine how that’s going to mess with his psyche.  Maybe he won’t notice.  I’ll just pretend like I don’t know what he’s talking about when he begs me to remove it.   : ) 

For now, I’m choosing to be optimistic that everything is going to be okay. 

Thanks for all the well-wishes!

XO,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy permalink
    February 15, 2011 2:40 pm

    You need to read The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. You’ll have a whole new perspective on ole’ Buster!
    I see that you’re reading Half Broke Horses. Her other book (The Glass Castle) is wonderful, too. It deals with the author’s upbringing with very unconventional parents. It will make you appreciate where you come from and the parents who loved and cared for you.

    I’m your father-in-law’s cousin. His dad and my grandpa were brothers. I ADORE your in-laws!! They taught my hubby and me to play Mexican Train..which we also adore!

    • February 15, 2011 3:55 pm

      Hi Betsy! Yup! My in-laws are THE BEST!! I love them big bunches, too!

      And you are right about The Glass Castle–wow! I’m still thinking about some of the situations in that book. I *loved* the dog in The Art of Racing. The story got a out-of-control for me, but the dog stayed awesome the whole way through!

  2. claudia b permalink
    February 17, 2011 2:28 pm

    Sending good thoughts to you and Buster (and even his cone!). Ok I must have missed a posting somewhere along the way: last I left off, there was the foot-rest thing, then the ‘children’s waiting area’ at the vet. What kind of surgery did he end up having — and what’s his next step? AND to you, Missy ma’am, whatever your surgicalistic experiences (and vicodin) are, am sending YOU good thoughts too! :o) No hurries, no guilt, don’t hustle back: just looking forward to the updates, once you’re back (a hug your way!)

  3. claudia b permalink
    February 17, 2011 2:28 pm

    ps–marvelous valentine’s festivites and creations too!! loved ’em. good heaven’s, you have such the creative knack!

Leave a Reply

