Skip to content

Tears

February 25, 2011

I’ve cried twice today.
And it’s only 9.
I knew the tears were going to come.
Eventually.
I’m one week into this post-surgery thing.
I wish it was week 7.
I would be thinking, “I made it!”
Instead of “I can’t.”

I can’t go to celebrate Christy’s birthday.
I can’t bring my skinny chai tea latte in from the car.
I can’t sit in the car long enough to enjoy the whole latte.
I can’t go to Maddie’s basketball game.
I can’t vacuum up dog hair.
I can’t walk my dog.
I can’t go shopping for a birthday card.
I can’t.
I can’t.
I can’t.

John thinks these 8 weeks will be good for me.
He wants me to slow down.
Ask for help.
But it’s so hard.
So I cried.
And then I called Amy.
And asked for help.
And of course,
She is happy to help.
Just like Kelly was yesterday.
I am so lucky to have so many good people in my life.
Who tell me, “Yes. You can. And I will help.”

I’m crying again.
Thankful tears.

XO,

Vicki

Pictured spotted (here)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 11:09 am

    Within 5 minuts of posting this, my dad and my friend, Donie, called. More tears…but good ones. Thanks, guys. I feel loved.

  2. Donie permalink
    February 25, 2011 11:34 am

    Sending hugs and info.(check your gmail account)

    Hang in there!

  3. Kelly Arens permalink
    February 25, 2011 2:28 pm

    Just think…we bring joy to those who need it and in the end we are filled with more joy….this is the time when others get to feel the extra joy b/c they get to do for you! I am offering that anytime you want to ‘try’ to do some of the “I can’ts”…I’m your gal or “Macgyver”…I mean it! Tears are cleansing…I’ll bring the tissues :)!

Leave a Reply

