Skip to content

Date Night at the Roller Rink

March 6, 2011

Hi Friends!

You will never guess what John and I did last night!  We went to a roller derby bout!  We saw all kinds of women speed-skating around on a super-tight circle, knocking each other down.  It was fascinating!  I had no idea this was going on right here in my town!

Remember my kind-hearted friend, Jess, my Baking Gals partner?  Well, it turns out she’s got this whole fabulous, dynamic, competitive side that I never knew about.  Until last night, that is.  Last night I saw her knock people down and skate super fast and “block the jammer” and have a blast with her roller derby team.  It was so cool

Jess told me she always had a secret desire to be a roller-skating waitress.  Somehow college and then a job at Kimberly-Clark managed to derail that dream.  Then one day she saw the roller derby girls skating in a parade downtown, and she *knew* it was meant to be.  She joined the team, immediately managed to break a bone, sat out while it healed, and it’s been all roller derby since then.

I love Jess’s story.  I love the fact that my mild-mannered neighbor has this other side that makes her happy.  I love that she went after her dream.  For about a half of a second I considered joining her (once my foot healed, that is)  and then I saw those girls hitting that hardwood floor and remembered that I am way too old to be a roller derby girl.  Guess I’ll just have to live vicariously through Jess. 

Way to go, Jess!  You are definitely the coolest girl I know!

XO,

Vicki

picture found (here)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

