Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Mom!!

March 9, 2011

Dear Mom,

Happy Birthday! 
I wish I could be with you today to give you a big birthday hug and celebrate with you. 
I’d bake you a beautiful cake and decorate it with purple pansies. 
We’d sit  together and I’d talk about all the wonderful things you’ve done for me over the years: 
the Brownie troop meetings you led,
the hours and hours of cheerleading you watched,
and our travels into the city for my Bishop’s Advisory Committee meetings. 
We’d laugh about band adventures, and of course, I’d have to throw in “lack-a-daisically,” once or twice. 
We’d remember fun Mom’s Weekends at Illinois, and cleaning my apartment at Point (yuck!). 
Of course, we’d talk about my beautiful wedding which you lovingly executed while I was away. 
Then we’d get around to all the chats we shared in the wee hours of the morning (over chocolate chip cookies and a glass of milk) while I breastfed your grandkids; those middle-of-the-night feedings were always so much easier with you by my side. 
We’d talk about birthday parties and your 50th Anniversary party; 
there have been so many wonderful celebrations over the years, haven’t there? 
Which would bring us around to today’s celebration: 
your 70th Birthday, and how I wish I could be part of tonight’s festivities.
And even though I won’t be with you, I hope you know how much I love you, Mom.
 I hope today is *magical* and that you feel celebrated and loved.
I am so blessed to have you as my Mom.

Love,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    March 9, 2011 10:05 am

    My Beautiful Princess,

    Thank you for your lovely tribute on my 70th birthday. You have no idea how much I am wishing you could be here with me today. I’d give anything to hug you and your lovely family and spend some time reminiscing. We truly have had some really wonderful times over the years and I am looking forward to many more, especially the Family Reunion in July when we will all be together.
    I know we’ll talk later today, but I wanted to tell you how much I appreciated your note this morning, while the tears are still falling. I love you as much as you can count up to and a million more.
    Love and hugs,

    Mom

  2. March 9, 2011 11:54 am

    My Mom turns 70 in September, too!

Leave a Reply

