Skip to content

Thinking Spring

March 14, 2011

Hi Friends!

Guess what I saw for the first time today–a little bit of our backyard!  True, the grass that’s been hidden under snow since November isn’t too pretty yet, but I can feel what is right around the corner:  SPRING!  The sun is shining, too, so if I just sit inside and look out the window, I can pretend it’s closer than it probably is.  The truth is, this isn’t my first time at the rodeo–I know what March is like in Wisconsin–we could still get more snow before it’s over.  Have I mentioned lately that my kids have not have one single snow day yet???  So hard to believe!

This week John is in Peru.  It always feels a bit weird when I know he’s in a different hemisphere.  He’s on his way to summer as I type.

This week also marks *4* weeks since my surgery–yahoo!!  I’m almost halfway done!!  I get a new cast on Wednesday and then in 2 weeks I move to a boot, and while I will still have to use crutches (boo!), I will be able to take a shower (double yay!), so I’m counting down the days!  I can’t wait to be done and back in the pool.  I’m also looking forward to getting back on my bike.  I’m going to be doing the bike portion of a triathlon in August, and I can’t wait to start training again.  I have officially retired from running, but I still love the swim and bike portions of triathlons.  One of my former swimmers is going to be doing the swim portion.  Isn’t that cool???  Our runner is a running goddess, so I think we’re going to kick some tri-booty!

Oh, and I’ve had a request for a Buster update:  he’s doing great!  We removed his cone last week and let me tell you, he was pretty darn giddy about it.  I was worried that he might start licking his incision, but he’s left it alone.  Of course, if I was threatened with having the cone put back on, I’d leave it alone, too.  : )   His hair is growing back in nicely, too.  I’ll try to capture his cuteness for you guys this week.

I’m off to go get 45 bags of gold coins ready for the teachers this week.  Pictures to come!

Have a sunny day!

XO,

Vicki

Picture spotted (here)

One Comment leave one →
  1. sister friend permalink
    March 16, 2011 11:38 pm

    awesome news on both patients! thanks for the update. i think we should have a re-do on the cast signing. maybe we can keep the last one for the scrapbook 🙂 you are doing a great job rocking the healing! you and buster! xo

Leave a Reply

