Skip to content

Summer Writing Camp

March 19, 2011

Hi Friends!

The sun is shining and it’s a darn-right balmy 40 degrees outside–hooray!  All this nice weather has me looking ahead to Summer 2011.  In addition to coaching my beloved Big Pigeons in the wee hours of the morning, I’m also going to be running a Summer Writing Camp.  I’ve actually run summer classes before, back when I taught fabulous homeschool kiddos down in Texas, but this will be a new adventure for my current group of public school kids.  I’m hoping to include a small photography component and I’m sure there will be a weenie roast or two around the fire pit.  I’m planning on ending the course the way all summer camps end–with a talent show!  Of course, the focus of the camp will be on expanding and improving the “campers” writing skills, so the talents will have to  involve things the kids wrote themselves.  My hope is that by including some fun activities around the writing, my students won’t mind that they are actually doing “school work” over the summer.  For now, I’m having fun dreaming up assignments and taking fun pictures to send with the “camp brochure.”

What do you have planned for this summer?

Have a gorgeous day!

XO,

Vicki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

