Skip to content

Um…Brown and Yellow??? You Bet!!

March 21, 2011

Hey Friends!

Ms. Amy came over on Friday to do a little crafting in my happy room.  She wanted to make a mixed media collage for her friend, Tamara.  I have made so many of these collages for loved ones over the years. I think they make such special, personal gifts.  When I asked Amy what colors she wanted to use she said, “When I think of Tamara, I think of brown and yellow.”  I’m not going to lie–I was a little skeptical about that color combo.  Brown and yellow? Huh.  Amy went through my bags and bags of cut-out words and pulled things that reminded her of Tamara.  Then she started laying it all out on her canvas.  And you know what?  The golds and bronzes and mossy greens were completely lovely together.  Isn’t it awesome??  I just know Tamara is going to love it!

I spent our time together working on this:

I found this journal at Urban Outfitters last spring and knew it would be a cool gift for the fabulous Ms. Elle.  Only, instead of just giving it to her, I told her she had to fill it out and give it back to me.  In the mean time, I bought one for myself and have been working on filling it out to send to her.  I knew this project was going to be a challenge for me.  I’m kind of a rules-follower and neat freak.  This journal pushes me outside of all of my comfort zones with its bizarre prompts.  (“Tie a string around this journal and drag it down the street.”  “Spill coffee on this page.”  “Use this page as a napkin.”  Seriously????)   The idea is to artfully wreck the journal.  Be edgy.  Um…I’m a lot of things, but I can’t seem to channel my inner “edgy.”  I just know Elle, who is incredibly creative and cool and edgy, is going to send me an awesome journal.  It’s been kind of intimidating, frankly.  I’ve been trying really hard not to approach this as a “craft project,”  but it’s so hard!  Our pre-set deadline is rapidly approaching (March 30) and I’ve still got a whole bunch of wreaking to do.  I plan on taking pictures of my journal before I mail it to Elle.  Then I’ll take pictures of the same pages in Elle’s journal so you can compare.  I’m pretty sure you’ll be able to tell whose is whose.  : )

Have you created anything lately that has pushed you out of your comfort zone?

XO,

Vicki

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 9:31 am

    I’m having issues, Vicki, with my art journaling project because I just don’t do messy well. Way too OCD I guess. Or something…maybe the real problem is that I’m just not artistically talented.

    • March 21, 2011 10:05 am

      Oh, you’re definitely artisically talented, Monika–I just think both of our tastes run more to “clean.” I keep thinking back to your Charleston book and how you were able to let yourself create something that was beautiful in its seemingly “unplanned-ness.” (Or maybe you planned it to look unplanned??). At any rate, I can’t even seem to let go that much. You’re going to laugh when I post picture of my “wrecked” journal. I’m trying to let go…but it’s definitely not natural for me!

  2. Elle permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:17 pm

    And the pressure is on! I’m intimidated now! 😛

    • March 22, 2011 10:50 am

      Ha! I can’t believe it! I thought you’d be having NO trouble with this!! : ) Can’t wait to see yours!! XOXOXO

  3. Tamara Bunjovac permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:34 pm

    So fun. I have never been mentioned in a blog before….at least not that I’m aware of! (:
    You are right Vicki, I absolutely LOVE my collage! AND the colors!! Such an awesome gift from a special friend. Xo

Leave a Reply

