Skip to content

Hanging Out and Looking Pretty!

March 28, 2011

Hi Friends!

Hope you had a wonderful weekend!  John and I snuck away for a little one-on-one time Saturday and ended up at the ReStore again (romantic, huh?).  I really do like going over there and looking for treasures.  This time I found a fantastic window frame for a whopping .75 cents!  It definitely called out to me.  I knew I could turn it into something special with a little bit of paint and some chicken wire.  John kind of gave me a weird look when I mentioned the chicken wire, but he’s always up for a good trip to Menards, so he whipped out a dollar and then drove me over to Menards.

We picked up a $5 roll of chicken wire (I still have $4.50 left on the roll if you need some…), and some wire and hooks for .97 each.  We spray painted the chicken wire white (2 light coats).

I think this picture is so cool:

Then I primed the window frame:

Once the primer was dry, we sprayed on Sunshine Yellow (so happy!).  It took about 3 coats to cover.

Then John stapled the wire to the back of the frame while I took pictures:

And then he trimmed it down while I took pictures:

And then we flipped it over and I had a blast hanging some of my colorful jewelry on it:

Of course, for now it looks all cute (for the pictures).  I’m sure eventually it will get much more crowded and not as picture-worthy.  : )  The sunshine-yellow frame is making me oh-so-happy.

Yahoo for projects that bring joy for under $5!

Have a happy day!

XO,
Vicki

PS.

I’m linking this project up with Life Made Lovely Monday–I love Heather’s beautiful blog, Blessed Little Nest.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 11:37 am

    This is so pretty! Love the colors, your amazing jewelry, and the idea! Wonderful job, found you on Life Made Lovely Mondays 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful day!

    Katie

    • March 28, 2011 12:19 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and for the kind words!! This was such an easy, fun project!

  2. Dede Sharp permalink
    March 28, 2011 11:44 am

    Thank you for sharing all your so cool craft projects with us! You’re so creative – it almost inspires me to be creative…haha~

    Dede

    • March 28, 2011 12:20 pm

      Dede–you’re always welcome to come on over to craft–every other Friday Kelly comes over–want to join us?

  3. March 28, 2011 1:58 pm

    LOVE this! thats so pretty! I have an earring holder that I made with a pic frame and some window mesh but yours is SO much cuter! Hope to try it someday! 🙂

  4. March 28, 2011 6:31 pm

    I’ve been wanting to make one of these for forever but never got around to it! You might have inspired me to get on it again 🙂

    • March 28, 2011 7:59 pm

      You should definitely make one–and send me a picture–I’d love to see what you come up with!!

  5. March 29, 2011 2:02 am

    Hi there! Email me your adress and i will send you a rainbow crochet garland 🙂

    • March 29, 2011 8:23 am

      Yay!! I’m so excited about hanging your happy garland in my space!

  6. Tabi permalink
    March 29, 2011 10:31 am

    I so love this! This would be perfect for all my new beading crafts that are now cluttering up my dresser-top. Hmmm – may have to take a trip to our local Recycle North to see what I can find!

    • March 29, 2011 11:54 am

      I think it would be *perfect* for displaying your new beaded treasurers! (and a great way to display them if you wanted to sell them!). Send me a picture when you’re done–I’d love to see what you come up with!!!

  7. July 18, 2011 9:09 am

    love this!!!

Leave a Reply

