Skip to content

Election Celebration Kit!

March 30, 2011

Hi Friends!

I think it’s about time I go on-and-on about how proud I am of my brother, Tom.  For the past 20 years Tom has  lived in the Chicago suburb of Blue Island, Illinois.  Tom bought the coolest mid-century-modern historical home and has lovingly restored it to its full glory.  Tom has donated countless hours to restoring the city of Blue Island, as well, through his work with Main Street Blue Island committee and the Blue Island Historic Preservation committee.  He has brought business into downtown Blue Island by organizing large charity events and has worked tirelessly to make Blue Island a lovely place to live.  Tom is all about giving back to the city he has called “home” for over two decades.  This year, he’s decided to take his dedication to Blue Island one step further by running for Alderman.  I just know he would make the very *best* Alderman!

I’m proud to say that I came up with his campaign slogan, “Believe in Blue Island.”  To me, this slogan sums up how Tom has always felt about the city.  He loves living in Blue Island and his community means the world to him.  Tom has always believed in Blue Island and its endless potential. 

Tom, Tommy, Christy and Michael, along with countless other friends and volunteers (Hi David, George, and Sara!), have worked hard to get Tom’s message out to the voters.  Next Tuesday, Blue Island citizens will go to the polls to cast their votes.  Tuesday night, Tom will host a celebration party to thank everyone who helped with his campaign.  As much as I’d love to be there to help him celebrate, I just don’t think driving down there while still on crutches is a good idea.  So, I will have to sit by the phone and wait for the good news.  And you know what?  I’m positive that there will be good news. 

I decided that even if I can’t be there, I can help with the celebration, hence the “Election Celebration Kit!”  I’m hoping that by sending down a bit of red-white-and-blue happiness, Tom will feel my support.

The kids and I had a blast coming up with all kinds of goodies to put in the box:

Maddie insisted that we send some streamer poppers in the box.  We found a bag at Hobby Lobby, and I knew just how to spruce them up:

I searched high and low for a cute ribbon for Tom to wear.  I ended up altering one I found at Party City:

No one needs to know there’s a picture of Handy Manny underneath, right?  : )

Of course, I had to send some super-fun red-white-and-blue leis:

And I had to make a festive bunting, right?  What would an election celebration be without bunting?

I also had to sneak in something for Christy to wear:

Wear it with pride, sister-friend!  : )

Finally, I framed that Eleanor Roosevelt quote I posted a few weeks back.   Tom is definitely one of those wise people who talk about ideas. 

Win or lose, I am so proud of you, Tom.  You inspire me to always go after my dreams! 

Celebrate big for me!!

I love you!!

XO,

Vicki

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 7:18 am

    you’re the best sis ever, I just know it!

    • March 30, 2011 8:22 am

      I am so blessed to have *fabulous* siblings, Monika!

  2. sister friend permalink
    March 30, 2011 8:00 am

    best. gift. ever.

    • March 30, 2011 8:24 am

      And you know we all want plenty of photos of you in that crown, right??? I’m thinking with the bunting draped over your shoulder…popping a “Believe in Blue Island” popper. Fabulous! : )

  3. Kelly Arens permalink
    March 30, 2011 8:08 am

    AWESOME! Best of luck!!!

  4. Karen permalink
    March 30, 2011 9:19 am

    Good Luck to him!! This is how my mother in law got her start and now she has been Mayor for… well seems like…ever!

Leave a Reply

