Skip to content

Book Lovers Wreath

April 2, 2011

Hi Friends!

Can I tell you how darn-right giddy I am about my new “Book Lovers Wreath”?!?  I am loving the way the naturally aged pages look all folded together!  It looks perfect hanging over the antique bookcase in my dining room.  I love my dining room, probably because that’s where most of my favorite antique treasures have ended up being displayed.   This wreath adds beauty and texture to the room–I love it!

This wreath was a cinch to make.  It’s the same technique I used for my balloon wreath.  All you’ll need is an old book (I found mine at the thrift store for .75), a straw wreath form (leave the plastic on so the straw doesn’t get all over the place), and some floral pins.  You’ll also need an exacto knife to remove your pages from your book.

Super easy directions:  use your exacto knife to carefully remove your pages from the spine.  I used all the pages, even the ones with stains on them.  I think it adds character to my wreath.

Once you remove your pages, fold each page until it looks like a flower.  Pin each “flower” onto the wreath, one at a time.

Pin your pages onto the form close to each other, making sure you don’t leave any large gaps.  Make sure you do the sides, too, so your wreath looks good from all directions.

Hang on the wall and enjoy!!

Here’s the breakdown:
14 inch straw wreath form from Joann’s –$3.49
Vintage book from thrift store — .75
Floral pins left over from balloon wreath:  free

Total price for a completely lovely wreath:  $4.25!!

Happy Crafting!!

XO,

Vicki

PS  I’m linking this project up at Life Made Lovely Monday

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 8:38 am

    Love the silhouette, love the wreath and a balloon wreath, a la Vicki, is in my future as soon as the weather warms up! I can work on it while the girls are outside playing.

  2. Mom permalink
    April 2, 2011 10:08 am

    I love the silhouette too! And the wreath is one of the most unusual craft projects I’ve ever seen and I’m already looking around for a spot to hang one….just in case :).
    Talk to you soon?

    Love and hugs,
    Mom

    PS also loved your memory for yesterday’s Blog

  3. April 4, 2011 10:17 am

    you are knocking my socks of! another easy peasy tutorial. i LOVE it!!

  4. April 4, 2011 11:12 am

    wow that is the cutest wreath EVER.

  5. April 4, 2011 3:18 pm

    Great job!!!! I have seen these before, but never realized how inexpensive & easy they are to make! thanks for sharing!!!

  6. April 5, 2011 12:35 am

    oh my word thats adorable!! thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

