Skip to content

Favorite Memories Friday//Coffee With Christy

April 8, 2011

Week #2  Coffee with Christy

A couple of years ago, my sister, Christy, came up for a long weekend to help me celebrate my birthday.   I loved having her stay past Sunday because that meant I would get some “just the two of us” time.  As soon as we dropped the kiddos off at school, we headed downtown to my favorite little coffee shop, Brewed Awakenings.  Over cups of vanilla chai and cappuccino, she and I generated lists.  Of the two of us, I am definitely the most corny and sentimental.  That being said, I can usually talk Christy into pretty much anything.  On this day, I really wanted to write down a list of our favorite shared memories, something we could look back on and laugh over when we were old and gray.  We shared plenty of big laughs as we tried to narrow down a lifetime of memories into a “Top Ten.”  I’m sure I will eventually write about each and every one of our Top Ten Memories at some point in the future. 

When we finished that list, I talked her into coming up with a “Thelma and Louise” list–our version of the “Bucket List.”  I’m a firm believer that if you write down your goals, you are more likely to accomplish them.  Well, as you can see, we came up with some doozies.  I’m not sure we’ll ever actually go hang gliding together, or be willing to take bikini pictures together (really?),  but I am hopeful we can make a pottery class work, and I dream about that little shanty in Aruba.  The good news is that we’ve already accomplished “New York in the Spring.”  The really good news?  Check out that last one.  Yup.  It’s going to happen 9/1/12.  And I’m pretty sure we’ll be creating a whole big bunch of new favorite memories on the way to that date!

I loved our morning together, reliving good memories and dreaming about future fun.

XO,

Vicki

PS  This list was actually written in October 2009 (I put it in the book in January 2010–not sure why I dated it like that).  The handwriting is Christy’s.  Isn’t it awesome?

One Comment leave one →
  1. sister friend permalink
    April 8, 2011 7:56 am

    i’m laughing out loud! what a great way to start a friday! that was such a great day and no matter how much i was like “really? lists?” it is totally great to relive that. how fun! can’t wait for the next 18 months of fun and planning! HAHAHAHA i’m getting married!!!!!

Leave a Reply

