Skip to content

This Boot Was Made For Walking

April 13, 2011

Hi Friends!

Great news:   I’m done with life as a one-legged woman!  Woo-Hoo!!  That’s right:  today is the first day in 8 weeks (!) that I have two feet planted firmly on the ground.  I am beyond excited to be done with crutches.  And scooting down the stairs on my bottom.  And not being able to carry anything.  I tell you what;  I was down-right giddy about carrying my own dirty clothes down the stairs to the laundry this morning (something I never in a million years thought I would ever say!).  I’ve still got to take it very easy–I need to continue wearing a walking boot (which is definitely not as cute as the ones pictured above), and I can’t do anything crazy yet, but I’m thrilled just knowing that I will be able to get a little bit crazy in the near future!  : )  Right now the foot feels pretty good, but my ankle feels a little bit wobbly.  I can definitely tell I haven’t used it in two months.  

I feel so, so blessed to have had so much help during this long healing process.  John and the kids went above and beyond, for sure.  Between Buster’s recovery and mine, they really had to pick up a lot of slack.  Christy was there in the early days (Florence!), and Amy held my hand through the really rough days.  My Bible Study ladies kept us all well-fed and Denise and Tony and Isabella helped me through the last few days.  So many complete strangers helped carry things, and held doors for me and gave up their seats.  I am filled-t0-the-brim with gratitude for each and every kind gesture. 

I learned a whole big bunch about myself in the last 8 weeks.  I can ask for help.  I can accept help.  I slowed down.  I said, “No, I can’t right now.”  When I look back over the last eight weeks, I definitely remember the low points, but what stands out are so many of the high points.

I am one step closer to dancing.

But today, I’m just celebrating the first few steps.

Life is good.

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tommy Mantel permalink
    April 13, 2011 2:45 pm

    We are so happy for you. I cannot wait to see you dancing around. You have plenty of time to practice before the wedding. See you at Easter.

  2. sister friend permalink
    April 13, 2011 8:36 pm

    YAHOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Leave a Reply

