Skip to content

Favorite Memories Friday//Honeymoon in Jamaica

April 15, 2011

Hello, Friends!

As hard as it is to believe, it’s almost been 20 years since our *magical* honeymoon in Jamaica.  John and I spent our first week as man and wife at Sandal’s Dunn’s River, where they catered to our every whim and fancy.  We played in the clear blue/green ocean, competed in hokey newlywed games, and sat under the star-filled sky and talked about our dreams for our future.

One night we boarded a charter boat and went snorkeling.  Before we jumped overboard, our guide asked if we wanted life jackets or not.  I wasn’t sure, so I consulted with John who assured me that I was a strong swimmer and didn’t need a life jacket.   For future reference, when someone offers you a life jacket, go ahead and take it.  Those waters were super choppy.  Oh, and FYI, coral is not a good place to perch on for a quick rest while you catch your breath.  On the plus side, look how cute our underwater picture looks!  We managed to smile and everything! : )

And the food!  Oy!  We ate and ate and ate!  What I remember most was all the fresh fruit–all you cared to eat at every single meal.  Yum!

I’m so glad I have a picture from toga night!  I doubt I will ever get John to wear a pink toga again.

One of the highlights of the whole week was climbing the waterfall.  It was slippery and scary and deliciously-fun all at the same time.

I also loved waterskiing.  I had never managed to get up on waterskis before our honeymoon, but I had the world’s best instructors who guaranteed that I would be skiing in no time.  After a few quick lessons in the boat, I got up the very first time!  You know what else was great?  The couple’s massage the day after I waterskied for the first time.  I’m pretty sure that was the best massage I’ve ever received.  My lady spoke no English, but she managed to find every single sore spot on my body! 

John and I also played golf together for the first time on our honeymoon.  Did you know they make left-handed clubs?  Well I didn’t.  By the time I completed the 6 miles necessary to get to the golf course, go back and swap out my clubs and then trek back to the course, I had sort of lost my enthusiasm for playing golf.  But I played anyway, because, you know, it was our honeymoon and all.  : ) 

My memories of Jamaica are warm and wonderful.  I think about them when I smell coconut, or hear Bob Marley.  It was a beautiful place to start our life together.

XO,

Vicki

9 Comments leave one →
  1. karen permalink
    April 15, 2011 3:06 pm

    Was it legal to get married at 12?? Wow you 2 look so young! Looks like it was fabulous way to start your life together!

    • April 15, 2011 4:22 pm

      I know, right?!? I love looking at pictures of John with all that hair–so funny!! (And that groovy matching shirt/swimsuit combo his mom bought him for the honeymoon makes me grin!)

  2. April 15, 2011 4:36 pm

    I have a photo just like one of yours, all possessive and like…watch out ladies, he’s mine! I’ll have to send it to you, it’s a carbon copy of yours.

    You look just as happy and in love and joyful as you did 20 years ago, you lucky gal!

    • April 15, 2011 5:02 pm

      Ha! I am really gripping him in that photo!! I’m not sure who I thought would steal him away at a couples resort, but you never know. He was quite a catch (still is!).

  3. Amy permalink
    April 15, 2011 4:50 pm

    Fantastic pictures! I love the pink toga and the matching scrunchy for your swimsuit, which by the way should have been a teenie, weenie bikini! You two are so adorable, and still are!

    • April 15, 2011 5:00 pm

      I did bring a 2 piece on the trip, but I wouldn’t let John let me take any pictures in it. Now, of course, I totally wish I had pictures! Oh well! : )

  4. April 15, 2011 5:00 pm

    Oh! And I LOVED that scrunchy! It was my favorite one!!

  5. April 16, 2011 3:47 am

    oh my goodness. cutest couple award FOR SURE.

  6. April 16, 2011 7:44 am

    AWWWW! These are amazing.

Leave a Reply

