Skip to content

I Heart Magnets (especially handmade ones!)

April 18, 2011

Hi Friends!

I have to confess:  I have a wee little obsession with magnets.  My fridge is covered with them.  I love to buy a magnet from each of the different cities I visit.  They always make me grin.  A couple of weeks ago I saw an easy tutorial on  How About Orange about making your own super-glossy magnets.  It was love at first sight.  I couldn’t get those little cuties out of my mind.  So Emily and I headed out to Joann to stock up on wooden disks, a pack of magnets and a bottle of Mod Podge Dimensional Glue.  Then I invited a couple of crafty gals on over to make some magnet fun.  I may or may not have gotten a little bit out of control with this craft.  Needless-to-say, I made a whole big bunch of magnets.  The magnets above were made with rub-ons.  The ones below were made with vintage maps:

My friend, Jess, made this cute Vegas magnet:

I plan on giving this set to Jack’s teacher at the end of the year:

This project is completely simple.  I think the hardest part was finding where they kept the Dimensional Glue at Joanne.  The directions on the bottle tell you not to shake it before you use it.  If you do, you will end up with air bubbles (I think you can see an example of this above). If you glue your picture onto the wooden disk, make sure to let it dry completely before you cover it with the dimensional glue.  I found it helpful to hot glue the magnet onto the back of the disk before I started on the decorating part.  That way you have something to hold onto when you’re adding the dimensional glue.    Even after covering every possible wooden circle I could find, I still had plenty of glue left over for future projects.

Happy Crafting!

XO,

Vicki

I’m linking up with Heather again this week at Life Made Lovely!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 7:44 am

    fun, fun, fun…love them. i’ve been wanting to find a vintage map with our hometown on it for ages to display in our home.

  2. Kelly Arens permalink
    April 18, 2011 9:57 am

    They were super fun to make! I have more progress in my craft room!!!

  3. April 18, 2011 11:50 am

    Super fun! Thanks for sharing. My sis made some similar ones, gluing paper directly to the magnet & then gluing clear glass stones (the kind sold for flower vases) to the paper The finished product looks very much like yours.

  4. April 18, 2011 5:57 pm

    OOOHH! These DO look addicting! I’ve never tried the dimensional glue — but looks like it’s something I NEED to! Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. Heart Magnet

Leave a Reply

